fiddle2 entry

< previous [home] next >

Date: 2007-10-20 17:36:13 (Author: trav)
Link: http://travis.kroh.net/archives/004978.php

So I get this email:

From: heidy heidy <heidyget@gmail.com>
Hi,
I am interested in purchasing the textlink advertising at some specific pages of http://travis.kroh.net/
let me know if interested so that we can discuss it further. I can make a good offer along with an attractive price in order to make it worth your time.
Let me know!
Regards
Heidy

which goes right to the spam folder. Then I get another one a few days later following up. Persistent, isn't she?
I asked what her pitch was, and got:

From: heidy heidy <heidyget@gmail.com>
Hi
Thanks for your interest!
I am interested in placing small text lines on specific pages of your website. An example of this can been seen at bottom of http://www.picment.com/articles/css/funwithforms/ Featured resources for CSS Web Designers
another example
http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2007/05/10/70-expert-ideas-for-better-css-coding/ below the blog post and above the comments.
The text will be custom written to match the content of the site. The textlinks will go to non spammy and relavent websites. And you've the right to edit the text anytime to make it worth your needs. I'm going to offer you a very attractive price for that. And we'll make it as per your requirement. Waiting for your response.
Regards
HEIDY

I let it go, but got yet another follow-up. So I've decided to bite:

Well, heidy heidy, before this goes anywhere, you're going to have to convince me of the legitimacy of the offer.
- What's the name and website of your firm/company, and why haven't you mentioned it before?
- Where are you located? What is your street address and phone number?
- Why are you doing business from a free, Gmail account?
- How do you solicit new advertisers, and what are they most usually interested in?
- What, specifically, about my site interests your advertisers?
- Specifically, which pages are you interested in?
- Why does a Google search for your username result in a site that's been hijacked to sell Viagra?
Let me know if you're still interested.
-trav


 

[ home - archives - quoteboard - blogger decoder - wishlist ]

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.